A Fragmentary Passage

Dark. Darker. Darker than the darkest night.

The nurturing sorrow that feeds my soul whispers names in my ears that only my heart dares speak. The sound coming from within finds no escape through my vocal cords, and instead echoes within my chest, causing me to long for that which will never come. Loneliness nests within my deepest fears, displaying potential futures that never end on a happy note. It’s been a while since I tried moving on, but the pages of the book weigh too heavily upon my soul for closure. I try to get rid of the punishing thoughts that assault my mind every now and then, but they all boomerang back to me. I want to believe I’m on the mend, but it’s just so hard to remain unscathed after everything life’s thrown at me. Looking back, all I see are broken dreams and friends lost along the way. Tears run down my cheeks as I hope for one last thing before I go back where I don’t belong.

What I wouldn’t give to really turn back time to spend one last night beneath the stars with my best friends.

Leave a comment